I’m going back to writing,

And for a while now, I’ve been working on this small project called Of Death. Since, you know, seeing as I write about death a lot anyways.

It’s essentially a novella (maybe, I have no idea how long it’ll be yet, probably won’t even reach novella standards) that, in the first part, describes short stories (very short, we’re not even talking one A4 page long here) of varying experiences of death. These are all different from each other and they feel quite episodic in nature, but it is quite depressing too. I haven’t posted a lot of the short stories that I’ve included of Of Death, but I did include Hopelessness, seeing as they were one theme anyways.

The second part of the novella consists of a guy who narrowly escapes death, but in doing so, a lot of the people around him die in his stead. A lot like Final Destination now that I think about it, well there’s no vision or premonition about deaths though. It’s also not as if death is chasing him but more of luring him until he fucks up kinda thing.

My writing style for this can be said as really, really unrealistic, as in high on LSD. To be honest, I don’t know how to describe it, because it’s not anything ‘normal’, it’s not like it’s above average but it’s ‘weird’. Like I’m describing scenes differently than I should do. It’s probably a hit-or-miss, but I feel it works for the theme of the novella, and I’m really enjoying experimenting with it.

I would love love love having someone or a group of people I could write with, because I will be busy during he whole of November so NaNoWriMo is out of the question. If anyone is interested, please do comment or send me a message. I would just love having someone to write it and I love reading what other people have written too. I also have no idea if I’ll publish this since it’s a novella, but I’ll think about that once I’m almost finished with it (editing included).

Other than that, I may post a couple of chapters once I feel like I’m getting some progress into it. It’s going slow, and although I’m up to part two, I have no idea where it’s going and what I’m going to do with it. I will probably update on this regularly though, so keep an eye out!

2 thoughts on “I’m going back to writing,

  1. The style of writing you describe sounds to me like stream of consciousness. This is a great way to write a first draft, especially if you don’t worry about whether it’s publishable – it takes the pressure off and allows ideas to flow. When it’s finished you can pick out the best ideas and work on them.

    Like

    • Yeah, that’s probably what I will do to be honest. I don’t think I’ll worry about publishing, if I do want to, then this particular book will be self-published. Thank you for the advice! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

