“Not my age.”

Before someone comes off and yells in my face about how “mature” they are and how much others say they’re “mature”, I’d like to say that I’ve been told the very same things. But I don’t think I’m quite mature yet, I still have a lot to learn about the world, even if I believe that I have known everything already.

See, that’s the problem I’ve seen with so many young people (mostly those younger than me). They believe that they’re mature even though they’ve had no experience in the world, even if they act differently from someone else. Just because they make one less dick joke than the other person, they believe themselves to be “mature”.

And the thing is, you can’t judge how “mature” you are. You never can, that’s the same as marking your own paper. You do not have the scope to look beyond your age to judge your own mental age (if that makes sense), not unless you’ve grown for several years and then look back. And, well, cringe.

There are exceptions, of course, and maybe it’s just me. But I believe that no one could ever fully mature anyways. People will always fuck up no matter how old they are, thus a learning experience will always be involved no matter what age you are.

15 thoughts on ““Not my age.”

  1. naïveté says:

    “And the thing is, you can’t judge how “mature” you are. You never can, that’s the same as marking your own paper. You do not have the scope to look beyond your age to judge your own mental age”

    what an accurate metaphor to illustrate the Dunning–Kruger effect or how John Cleese put it: “stupid people have no idea how stupid they are”

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

