Camp NaNoWriMo, April 2015

I once said that I disliked NaNoWriMo with a passion (or something like that). Well, the truth is, for the April NaNoWriMo camp, I bit back my words. Mostly because I finished the story I was working on during NaNo to completion, something that did not happen when I was working on NaNo last year. Yes, I did finish it.

Yes, I did finish it. Yes, I meant the April camp, not the March camp. To be honest, it wasn’t as if I reached 50,000 words though, I reach 30,000 more or less (I can’t be accurate because I wrote in a notebook and I haven’t transcribed everything yet), but the point is that I actually finished the story, unlike the November one.

And I’ve got to say I loved doing NaNo.

It wasn’t just actually writing it, there is a whole community who is also doing it with you, and they’re all really serious about polishing up their work. It’s nice to see others writing with you for a whole month, and to encourage each other with their work. For someone who doesn’t have something of a “writer’s circle” except for a few close friends, a community like that is something I greatly cherished.

I’m glad I bit my tongue and just went into it, especially with no outline written out and just writing words on paper. It was fun, honestly speaking, I was reminded why I started writing in the first place.

I highly recommend others doing NaNo (not too late to start, and you can set lenient goals!) and for those who are doing Camp this month, don’t worry, I still have to transcribe and greatly revise my manuscript. I’ll still be here all month (:

P.S. I’ll probably be doing a more in-depth post about what I did this month (that was completely different from what I did last month) and what I’ve written, though that will most definitely come after I’ve transcribed everything.

6 thoughts on “Camp NaNoWriMo, April 2015

  1. Good job, finishing NaNo is always a great accomplishment! I’d like to hear what you did things this time around so you should definitely write a post about it. I’m not doing Camp at the moment but I’m editing a novel and it’s not going as well as I’d hoped. Maybe I should head to the NaNo community for help and become a Camp rebel with editing goals.

    Like

    • I will soon (tomorrow I think). I’ll definitely write a post on it though.

      You should! NaNo has a lot of resources on editing novels. I’m technically a Camp rebel too since I’ll be editing as well for the rest of April, so you won’t be alone :b

      Thank you by the way 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. It’s great that you hot your novel technical finished. I had a hard time as well writing without any support.
    I’m also attending camp dis month.
    I set a lenient goal for myself 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Just Plain Ol' Vic says:

    Congrats on finishing the NaNo challenge. A fellow blogger, that I know personally, also too finished the challenge, so I have an idea of the commitment it takes to actually do it. So big kudos to you!

    Like

    • Thank you! 🙂 Though honestly the only reason why I’m able to finish the challenge in the first place is because I have Easter break, so really if I didn’t have a break, it would have gone for faaar longer.

      Still, thank you 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

