My friend and I had a discussion,

We were talking about rudeness and politeness. She said that she didn’t care if people were rude to her (which is a good thing, actually) and I used the word ‘nice’ and ‘polite’ interchangably. Which, I have to say, is different but to me, I still use it a bit similarly.

Granted, she does a good job of being cynical. Great, she is ready to face the real world, just as I had been three months ago (time flies so fast). She knows that not everyone is nice, and I admire her for that, she’s not gullible.

But I’ve changed a bit from those three months. Not much, I do understand that there’s always a bit of evil in everyone and that rudeness does not always decide whether or not someone is nice (though it is usually an indicator that someone is a bitch and I’m not too shocked if I am one either), but I don’t always look to negativity too.

At the end of the day, I do try to remind myself that everyone has a good side too. Maybe it’s because I realized I could just not wake up the very next day. I can’t say I speak for everyone but I’m pretty sure no one wants to be thought of as an asshole during my dying moment.

6 thoughts on “My friend and I had a discussion,

  1. Just Plain Ol' Vic says:

    I always try to be polite to everyone, it just makes the day better. There are enough assholes in the world and I don’t need to add to the population.

    Liked by 3 people

  2. It’s always good to try and be polite all of the time because like Just Plain Ol’ Vic said, there are certainly enough assholes in the world, we don’t need more. But if someone is having a particularly bad day or is in a hectic/stressed situation, they might be rude and still be a nice person in general. Usually those people (the truly nice ones) feel guilt over being rude even if it was accidental or not meant.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yeah, that’s true. Not gonna say I’m a nice person at my core, but I do feel the guilt that you mentioned when I’m rude sometimes, though it may be attributed to something else instead haha :b

      Liked by 1 person

  3. When I was in retail many years ago, my daily goal was to make sure that every person I came across, smiled. If they were grumpy, rude, or just plain mean, I would go out of my way to put a smile on their face before they left the store. Most times it worked; others…well, some people just refuse to be happy. I know the phrase “kill them with kindness” is totally cliche, but maybe if more people adopted that train of thought, the world would be a nicer place.

    **Side note…I’m never 100% the most jolly person, but I do try my best to be kind to anyone I come into contact with. Now, with my husband…that’s a different story. He lets me vent all the bs out, then immediately does something to make me laugh. 😛

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’ve actually never heard of that phrase haha But I admire what you do! I think that would be a great belief, but I do understand where cynical people come from. More or less, I understand the “We’re all going to die and everyone’s an ass, what’s the use?” I’ve been there before hahaha I’m not sure if I’ve taken a step backward or a step forward with my current belief, but whichever it is, it makes me feel happy, so I’m fine with it 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

