Guilt (Challenge #2)

First is a submission from Lynn Marie. It’s very straightforward but its honesty of the speaker’s guilt is what makes this poem come alive. 


The things I did in my past
Haunt my life makes it last
Takes my chest
Makes it beat
My ways are discreet
For the Guilt will surely come
I have done some bad things
That I shouldn’t have done
I have hurt some life’s
I have hurt my own
I have shut myself down
I have made myself alone
I push away people
I’m guilty of that
The things I have done
I am just stating the facts
Not lovely to be around
I have made people miserable
I’m not Harry Potter
I can’t become invisible
The things I am guilty of
Can always take control
Guilt knows what it is doing
It has its own role

4 thoughts on “Guilt (Challenge #2)

Leave a Reply

