I’ve lost track

Of what my blog is supposed to be.

At first, it was just a place to dump a lot of my work and thoughts. Then a lot of you began to follow me, and I realized that people who wanted to read my work existed!

Then I needed more people to read me, so I began to lure people to my blog rather than it being their own initiative to do so. I actively searched for readers while expanding my own interests.

The way I see it, that’s a good thing. People read what I write and I develop new hobbies. Good, but it gets worse when I began to just halfass it. Not going to lie, but for some of the blogs I follow, I only skim it and not much else.

When I realized how unfair that is when I saw how a lot of you actually read into some of my older stuff, I decided to just take it slower. Keep it less about the numbers and more about the content. I’m just going to relax a bit more and turn this blog into what I originally want it to be: a place to dump my work and thoughts.

Actually you don’t really need to read the above, it’s just basically “fuck it all. Not getting paid for this shit so I’m going to do what I want.”

No matter what, I am still grateful to know that there are several people who are willing to stay, read and comment on what I wrote. Even if it’s cliche, I have to say that it does get me going.

So thanks guys πŸ™‚

25 thoughts on “I’ve lost track

  1. From my pov you are doing really great. I love reading your thoughts… your words always inspire me. It’s true that the number were less to be worried about. If you write, they will follow πŸ’• everyone skimmed through posts sometime and that’s ok as well… πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

  2. mylifeinblogs83 says:

    I have to admit I hardly ever go back and read the older posts from blogs I follow. I read their stuff as it comes out on my reader and I comment if I feel like I can offer support

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Hi, I can relate to this. I make a point of reading posts that I have taken the time to visit, I am often glad I have because it turns out to be something great. I am afraid a lot of blogs are obsessed with followers, the number of followers and lose the original intent of their blog. I think you are on track with your plan to use your blog for yourself and if some people ride along that is great too.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I tend to read the blogs that I follow that have made comments on mine actually. It tends to make me connect with them more than just the random passer-by. I still struggle with getting people to read my stuff, but sometimes patience just pays off.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yeah, that’s exactly why I try to comment on a lot of posts I find, rather than just ‘liking’ it. It takes work more than patience to get people to read your stuff, trust me, I’ve been there. And mostly it involves commenting on other blogs rather than wait for people to comment on yours. You’ll get there, don’t worry πŸ™‚

      Like

  5. Wow! This made me much more thankful that you still followed me today. Thank you very much again for deciding to follow me πŸ™‚ Your stuff are interesting and I will definitely read your work now and in the future. πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

