Christmas Gifts

Yes, I do crafts! Holy shit the world is coming to an end! Be sure to say your goodbyes guys, Hell is freezing over.

It’s a new tradition (if it will ever become one) that I’m trying to start, and it’s to give back to my family. I’ve decided that each of my family members are going to get personalized and all of them handcrafted (hopefully) presents. If I don’t give up on them, that is. They’re also surprise gifts, so I hope that you’re all pretty good secret keepers.

First things first, a present for my mom. I’ve decided to make her a garland with pom poms so that she can decorate the house. Or at least try. So I followed the steps found here.

Er, a few of those steps, I guess. I mean, I can’t crochet. So… I can substitute right?

image

Shitty picture taken by a Samsung phone. I should get paid, it’s free advertisement!

I substituted the crochet part with braiding yarn instead, although I’ve never braided my own hair successfully yet. I’m a fucking genius, aren’t I? So far though, it’s worked out quite well, though it looks a bit thin. I plan on making another braid and then I’ll just loop them together. Hopefully they’ll be roughly the same size.

Why hope, you ask? Being a rational one, I should have measured the string carefully and taken note before I started, wouldn’t I?

ThatΒ wasΒ what I planned, then I told myself, “Fuck it,” and that plan went out the window. Instead I just measured the string off approximates and the other two by cutting it beside the previous string. Horrible idea, but it was much faster.

How will I make them stay up, you ask? I have no idea. I’ll improvise somehow, maybe that’ll involve blutack. You never know!

17 thoughts on “Christmas Gifts

  1. Oops and Giggles says:

    Good luck! I don’t have to patience to do homemade gifts. I tried learning crocheting because I like crocheted dish rags. I gave up rather quickly on that one. Haha. I applaud the people who are crafty.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Good luck! Post more pictures when you get further ahead, it’d be interesting to see how everything turns out. I myself can’t do crafts at all – a fact that was proven on multiple occasion in school. When others were knitting socks and gloves and doing whatever else amazing, I knit turtles. Several. How? By knitting just a big square and then tying it up with a string to make it an oval-shaped ball, and then I added eyes. Done! … I probably shouldn’t sound so proud… Soo anyway, I wish you all the best with the crafts!

    Liked by 1 person

    • It will definitely be interesting, especially since I have no idea how well each of them will turn out :b Don’t be so down on yourself, turtles are cute! I used to have one until it grew too big then I don’t know where it went… But yeah, thanks! πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

