“Don’t go.”

Where were those promises you said?
Of joy and glee, fame and wonder,
eyes twinkling with childish naivety,
with a smile on your face,
as the sunset neared.
As you raced after ambition, I shouted after you,
“Don’t go, don’t go.”

Then morning came and you lay on your bed,
Eyes awake but your heart asleep,
and the crimson flowed between your lips,
with shock fallen unto my own lips.
And all I could hear was chaos around me,
but all I could think was, “Don’t go,”
“Don’t go.”

A day passes and I stand in disbelief,
Delayed tears making an appearance,
I stand before you and whisper,
“Don’t go, don’t go.”

Leave a Reply

