Uh, do I say thank you?

I remember the last day of my high school life. Emotions were running high as students said their tearful farewells. My class entered Biology that day and we were surprised to find a cake! It was pleasant, and then the Biology teacher told us to write our thank-you notes on the board.

For her, for the Biology teacher. She told us to write thank-you notes for herself on the board.

Uh, okay?

I mean yes, I am grateful for the cake, and far more grateful for the fact that she swooped in and saved us when our last Biology teacher fucked us up. Without her, I don’t think we would have passed. Don’t get me wrong, I am thankful, from the bottom of my heart.

But I couldn’t help but feel a bit weirded out that we were instructed to write thank-you notes. I would have lied if I said that things were not awkward when we wrote the thank-you notes. The whole class was confused and chuckling nervously, and in the end, I was the first to write the note just to get it over with.

Kinda makes things feel just a tad superficial, eh?

It’s almost like when Facebook notifies you that a friend has a birthday, and then you write just a short “Happy Birthday” without any meaningful extras.

I am more shocked that she thinks our class feels that entitled that we couldn’t have said thank you unless we were told to do so. Our generation isn’t that bad, right?

I mean, my friends did present a gift and a card to the lab assistant because they wanted to, not because they were forced to.

Though the Biology teacher was watching when they presented it apparently, and they hadn’t brought a gift for the teacher. Oops.

In our modern age where everything is taken care of by other people, especially the small stuff like garbage, it is hard not to feel entitled. It’s hard, especially when saying “thank you” is beginning to lose its credibility as gratitude and more as meaningless words.

So even though we may not say “thank you” as much as we should, at the very least, in the few times that we do, we convey it with the gratitude it should carry.

Otherwise, we might as well say, “Fuck you.”

16 thoughts on “Uh, do I say thank you?

      • I love that you’re outspoken and say what you think even if it’s not what others want to hear. You are a young woman with a voice and you’re using it to shout out to the world. Express yourself and allow yourself to grow from all of your experiences. Do not allow a single man or woman to douse that flame. I’m counting on you.

        Liked by 1 person

          • Actually, it’s easier on your mind (and your mental health) to be truthful to who you are at any given moment. It’s less stressful than making yourself up. Of course, I’m not saying that we should not be considerate of others’ feelings, but I think if you’re saying your thoughts, which are inoffensive and someone does not like your choice of words, I’m of the strong opinion that it’s not a problem. People trust me because they know I won’t lie to them. Being edited by others grates on the nerves.

            Like

  1. I would have written “Thank you for the cake”. If she was asking for any other thank you’s she probably would have gotten them without asking if she deserved them. Also, your blog is very bright its a little tough to read :/

    Like

        • I figured as much, unfortunately I can’t tinker around with the colors unless I change ALL the colors with other pre-set themes, and if I want to customize it one-by-one, I have to shell out $30… Sorry, I’m not ready for that dedication, it’s best to just either lower or brighten up the screen šŸ˜¦

          Like

  2. Thank you for writing this ^^
    I think whether we say thank you with a real gratitude or just a shallow one, it shows on our expression, body language, or intonation. Although, it can be hard to interpret when the thank you is written and not said verbally. But either way, for me, all that matter is how much I really mean it, whether the person that I thank for really understand and accept my gratitude or not, I can only hope šŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

