Death March

Onward, men, don’t linger for longer,
feel that pride rushing through you,
the unworn wind filling your lungs.
Don’t look over your shoulder no more,
I vouch no guns pointed at your head.

Don’t worry about the world,
about your dead friends and lives,
of your soul in the barracks.
Ain’t nothing you can do,
if you wake up in a nightmare.

Lads, don’t make trouble,
to hear a bomb explode is mad,
you hear?
Don’t go telling others what’s not,
or you’ll live in a damn facility.

Go on, soldier,
live the rest of your life
with family,
in peace.

8 thoughts on “Death March

  1. PoetInsane says:

    Soldiers who fight for their country with their lives on the line should be appreciated. And you’ve done a great job in doing so. They deserve peace and the love of their family. It was a good read. Thanks.

    Regards, πŸ˜€

    Like

    • Thanks, but I was really careful on my word choices here because I don’t know anyone with an experience of war so I didn’t know if I conveyed it properly. Glad to know you think so though, and thanks for reading! πŸ™‚

      Edit: Okay, edging on controversial topic here because, like I said, I don’t know someone who partook in war so I can’t be completely sure. This poem was more on PTSD and how the soldiers’ conditions are mostly downplayed, so that last line was more meant to be sarcastic. Probably telling too much to a reader but couldn’t hold myself back haha :b

      Liked by 1 person

      • PoetInsane says:

        Haha, it’s all good. Since poems are understood differently by individual readers. But you let me in on a piece of your imagination. Thanks for letting me know.

        Regards, πŸ˜€

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

