Brief

You stumble upon a random letter on the path. You read it. It affects you deeply, and you wish it could be returned to the person to which it’s addressed. Write a story about this encounter.

Today’s twist: Approach this post in as few words as possible.

A walk isn’t ordinary any longer once you encounter a forgotten letter on the cobblestone road, that’s certainly what happened to me. I bend to pick it up, brushing off the unwanted dirt from its initially white packaging. Stepping to the side to allow other passersby to walk ahead, I open the letter to find an ignored love letter. Filled with romance-esque nouns and wishful promises, it should have been almost impossible for the receiver to put it down, let alone throw it away. But it was, and though I don’t know the history between the sender and receiver, I truly do sympathise with the poor letter.

I sigh, the anonymous writer did not leave a name at the bottom, an unusual case for letters. Without it, it’s absolutely impossible for me to return it, even if I desperately feel like it. Instead, with a new-found resolution, I pocket the abandoned letter roughly into my bag. At the very least, it will no longer crowd with the dust and gravel.

Leave a Reply

