About 9/11.

I’ve only seen these posts popping up regarding 9/11 and only then did I really realize the significance of today. No, I’m not going to be rude, I’m not going to say “who cares?”, but it really is not a day that holds a personal significance for me, and perhaps that’s why I didn’t regard it with the importance that I should have.

One, I’m not American, and two, there was also a dangerous situation near my area around that time. There had been riots in my country back then and people were targeting the minority: Us, and it was scary as shit. My dad had rallied up with the our neighbors to defend us if needed, but thankfully it never got to that. I’m not trying to say that those riots were far more important compared to 9/11, but that is definitely the first thing my family would talk about if we were to reminisce about the 2000’s, and not 9/11.

Another thing is that I cannot remember what happened on that date. I guess I was just too young back then to understand or remember anything. I cannot remember if my parents acted with horror or shock or anything like that, just… Nothing.

I really don’t mean to offend anyone because this is a sensitive topic, but these are just my thoughts regarding it from a foreigner’s POV. I am really bad with these kind of stuff and I don’t really know what to say, but my heart and condolences go out to all those who suffered from the tragic event and hope that things can only be better in the future.

6 thoughts on “About 9/11.

  1. Frankly, I like your honesty. I don’t “feel” much about this day anymore, but I definitely remember it–partly because I was so aware that many people in other countries face these horrors with much more frequency than Americans ever did before that time, and than we yet do. Thank you for both the condolences and the perspective.

    Like

  2. I totally agree! Why can’t we just MOVE ON and get on our day? Yes, it was a horrific day, but focusing on it is like dwelling on the past for 13+ years – that’s like a mental illness!

    I think we should focus on stories that deal with the present moment.

    I like your honestly!

    Renee

    Like

    • I kind of agree with you with moving on, but at the same time, I understand why the event was a focal point in our history. The ‘war on terrorism’ began mostly because of 9/11, which then contributes into changing most of our perspectives as the world changed from the 90’s to the 2000’s; especially since beforehand, the US dealt with the Russians instead during the Cold War. So until the ‘war on terrorism’ dies down for the most part or the world changes their focus on something else, 9/11 will still be a major topic, in reference to Al Qaeda or the up-and-coming ISIS.

      At least that’s how I interpret it, though I may be wrong since I’ve only learned History for two years in high school. Either way, thank you for reading my post 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

